Help during play
We try to keep the game of Monster Club as to the point as possible. However, even to advanced players there are some questions that may come to mind while playing a game of Monster Club. On this page you'll find the answers you seek.
During your play phase
No monster cards on the board or in hand.
What if I have no monster cards on the board an no monster cards in hand to play?
Show your hand to your opponent and return it to your deck. Shuffle your deck and draw five new cards. Try again!
I accidentally played a card or changed my mind about it.
What if I play or move a card that I actually didn’t want to play or move?
When you lose touch with the card it is considered ‘played’ or ‘moved’ and cannot be returned.
No free spots left to play cards in.
What if I don’t have any free spots on my board to play monster cards in?
You can’t play any monster cards on your board. Neither as a result of an effect.
Move a face down monster.
What if I want to move a face down monster?
Just do it!
Return a card from a grave to the board in face down position.
What if I can return a card from a grave and want to do so in face down position?
Have it your way!
The amount of cards you can play.
How many cards can you play during your play phase?
As many as you can. There is no limit to the amount of monster cards or power cards you play. However, always take note of the power card indicator of each monster card.
Stacking too much power cards.
What happens to power cards that override the power card indicator (lower left of each monster card) of the stack's monster card?
'Overstacked' power cards are instantly destroyed when the monster card is face up on the board. The cards that were added first remain.
Playing monsters that require special conditions to be played.
What is the process of playing cards that require special conditions?
Some monsters require special conditions to be played to the board. For an example: 'Dragon Of The Shimmering' requires you to destroy a 'Combo Dragon' to be played to the board. If the required card - which in this example is a 'Combo Dragon' - is not yet present on your board, you first play it to your board. You can instantly destroy the required card to play 'Dragon Of The Shimmering' to the board.
Monsters that require special conditions cannot be played face down.
Checking your face down cards.
Can I check my face down cards even after I played them?
Yes. You may have a look at your own face cards at any given time.
During your Attack phase
After you've attacked.
What happens after I attacked?
It is up to you with which monsters you initiate an attack on your opponent. After you've attacked your turn ends. (Which means you cannot move or play any new cards to the board.)
The order of activation (during an attack).
When I initiate an attack what is the order of activation of monster cards and power cards?
Your stack is turned face up - and therefore activates - first. Then your opponent's stack is turned face up and is activated.
Does the attack continue after the activation of certain power cards?
The attack continues unless a power card specifically states that the attack is called off or the initiating monster card is turned face down.
When scores are equal.
What if both stacks have an equal score?
Player’s turn to the type of their conflicting monster card which is either rock, paper or scissors. The dominant type remains while the other is destroyed. If types are equal bot stacks are destroyed.
Monster card / power card mistake by your opponent.
What if you initiate an attack on a face down card that is considered to be a monster card and it is revealed to be a power card (as a result of a mistake of your opponent)?
The opponent’s stack is destroyed.
No monsters on my board at the end of my turn as a result of an attack.
What if at the end of my turn I have no monsters on my board as a result of an attack initiated by me?
That’s the only exception there is to the rule: At the end of each turn you need to have at least one monster on your board.
Initiate an attack with a face down monster.
What if I want to attack with an face down monster?
Go for it! It is turned face up anyways.
During your Opponent's turn
Stalling by constantly moving away.
What if my opponent keeps moving its monster away from my monster while not doing anything else and therefore is stalling the game?
Dodging the same monster twice in a row isn’t allowed.
What counts as a destroy to win a game of Monster Club?
A monster that is destroyed on the board by another player than its owner counts up your winning destroy count. This can be a result of an attack or special effect.
Using a card's effect.
Can I make use of a card effect multiple times?
A card effect comes into effect when the card is played face up. This can be done from hand or when the card is turned face up as a result of conflict. If not mentioned otherwise the card’s effect is triggered only when it is played.
The 'original score'.
What is the 'original score'?
The original score is the score displayed on the monster card before calculation of score altering power cards or monster card effects.
Why do power cards have types?
Why do power cards have types?
Sometimes, thing are just the way they are.
To which grave do destroyed cards go?
Destroyed cards always go to the grave from the original owner, regardless of its position on the board or the player who has taken control of it.
Do I have to shuffle when I check my deck?
Yes. You are only allowed to check your deck during a game if a card specifically allows you to do so. After you checked your deck you always shuffle your deck.
Activation & deactivation
Some cards describe activation and deactivation. In Monster Club this implies noting more than a card being face up (active) or face down (inactive).